Situation #2: Answer

 

In this situation it looks like a clean body check was thrown by Chris. Darcy was taken out into the boards while he was carrying the puck. So, from the original picture, there would probably be no penalty assessed. 

However, from the vantage point of the referee, who saw what happened from this vantage point,  it is clear that an elbow has landed on Darcy’s neck/face. 

From this point of view the Referee would probably assess an "Elbowing" penalty. 

This is what would be considered an ‘Impact Penalty'. 

By calling the penalty it shows both teams that they will not get away with the high hits to the head of their opponent. It sets the tone for the rest of the game.

 
 

 

Copyright © 2011 All Rights Reserved
Infocom Canada Business Consultants Inc.
Phone: (705) 969-7215      Email
rkirwan@infocomcanada.com